You are here: Top Medical Schools > Oceania > Micronesia


General information

Micronesia (= small islands) is understood to mean the archipelagos or island states listed below, which are located in the South Pacific and belong to their own cultural area.


A number of independent states therefore form this cultural area.

Micronesia, together with Melanesia (black islands) and Polynesia (many islands), together form the island world of Oceania, often referred to as the South Sea states. The cultural area known as Micronesia must not be confused with the island nation of the "Federated States of Micronesia".

The area of the cultural area of Micronesia comprises around 2,000 atolls and islands, with around 115,000 residents, of which only a part are "real" Micronesians.

The total area of Micronesia including the sea area is around 7.8 million km². The terms Micronesia, Polynesia and Melanesia have been borrowed from the Greek, where mikros = small, poly = many, melas = black and nesos = island.

A detailed representation of the individual islands, archipelagos or states can be found under the following menu items:

  • Federated States of Micronesia
  • Guam
  • Gilbert islands, the atoll member 16 of Kiribati are
  • Marshal Islands
  • Nauru
  • Northern Mariana Islands
  • Palau
  • US territories in the Pacific

UNSCO World Heritage Site

Ruined city of Nan Madal

The ruined city of Nan Madal is spread over 99 artificial islands made of basalt rock and coral blocks off the Micronesian island of Phonpei.

These are the remains of stone palaces, dwellings and ceremonial complexes that were built between 1200 and 1500 AD - during the Saudeleur dynasty.

They are a particularly good example of Austronesian culture and are eloquent testimony to the social and religious behavior of the local societies of that time.

Last but not least, they are a good example of the emergence of a hierarchical social order led by a chief (Nahnmwarki), the influence of which has remained visible up to the present day.

On July 17, 2016, the ruined city of Nan Madal was added to the list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites.






Algeria Angola Afghanistan Armenia Aland Albania American Samoa Australia
Benin Botswana Azerbaijan Bahrain Andorra Austria Cook Islands Easter Island
Burkina Faso Burundi Bangladesh Bhutan Belarus Belgium Falkland Islands Fiji
Cameroon Canary Islands Brunei Cambodia Bulgaria Croatia French Polynesia Guam
Cape Verde Central African Republic China Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Kiribati Marshall Islands
Chad Comoros East Timor Georgia Estonia Finland Micronesia Nauru
D.R. Congo Djibouti Hong Kong India France Germany New Caledonia New Zealand
Egypt Equatorial Guinea Indonesia Iran Greece Hungary Niue Northern Mariana Islands
Eritrea Ethiopia Iraq Israel Iceland Ireland Palau Pitcairn
Gabon Gambia Japan Jordan Italy Kosovo Samoa Papua New Guinea
Ghana Guinea Kazakhstan Kuwait Latvia Liechtenstein Solomon Islands Tokelau
Guinea-Bissau Ivory Coast Kyrgyzstan Laos Lithuania Luxembourg Tonga Tuvalu
Kenya Lesotho Lebanon Macau Macedonia Malta Vanuatu Wallis and Futuna
Liberia Libya Malaysia Maldives Moldova Monaco

Central America

Madagascar Malawi Mongolia Myanmar Montenegro Netherlands Aruba Antigua and Barbuda
Mali Mauritania Nepal North Korea Norway Poland Bahamas Barbados
Mauritius Morocco Oman Pakistan Portugal Romania Belize Bosnia and Herzegovina
Mozambique Namibia Palestine Philippines Russia San Marino Cuba British Virgin Islands
Niger Nigeria Qatar Saudi Arabia Serbia Slovakia Costa Rica Curacao
Reunion Republic of the Congo Singapore South Korea Slovenia Spain Dominica Dominican Republic
Rwanda Sao Tome and Principe Sri Lanka Syria Sweden Switzerland Ecuador El Salvador
Senegal Seychelles Taiwan Tajikistan Ukraine Vatican City Guadeloupe Guatemala
Sierra Leone Somalia Thailand Turkey

South America

Haiti Honduras
South Africa South Sudan Turkmenistan United Arab Emirates Argentina Bolivia Jamaica Martinique
Sudan Suriname Uzbekistan Vietnam Brazil Chile Montserrat Panama
Swaziland Tanzania Yemen   Colombia French Guiana Puerto Rico Saba
Togo Tunisia

North America

Guyana Nicaragua Trinidad and Tobago  
Uganda Zambia Canada Greenland Paraguay Peru    
Zimbabwe   Mexico United States Uruguay Venezuela    

Copyright 2021 Top Medical Schools All Right Reserved.